Buying & Selling Guide | Rental Guide | Expatriates Guide | About Singapore | Daily Property News | HUDC INFO | 中文资讯 | Login
Logo Marshe Properties

Facts and Figures


Singapore is a republic with a Parliamentary system of government based on the Westminster model. The structure of the state is made up of the following:


Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam became the third Elected President on 1 September 2011. The President is elected for a fixed term of 6 years.


Led by the Prime Minister, Mr Lee Hsien Loong (since 12 Aug 2004), Parliament is elected by general election every five years. The first sitting of Parliament was held on 8 Dec 1965. The first general election for Parliament was held on 13 Apr 1968. The present Twelveth Parliament, constituted by general election held on 7 May 2011 has 99 Members of Parliament (MPs) consisting of 87 elected MPs, 3 Non-Constituency MP and 9 Nominated MPs. At the election, voters returned 81 candidates from the People's Action Party (PAP) and 6 candidates from the Worker's Party.

The Judiciary

The Supreme Court and the Subordinate Courts
The Judiciary is one of the three constitutional pillars of government, along with the Legislature and the Executive. As an Organ of State, the Judiciary's function is to administer justice independently.


The people of Singapore are largely descendants of immigrants from the Malay Peninsula, China and the Indian sub-continent.

Facts and figures about Singapore

For enquiries, call +65 8666 6944

or email here »